*This article may have affiliate links, which means we may receive commissions if you choose to purchase through links we provide (at no extra cost to you). For more details, please read our privacy policy/affiliate disclosure. Thank you for supporting the work we put into this blog!

Ash Shar­qiyah () was the east­ern region (Ara­bic: منطقة, translit­er­a­tion: mintaqah) of the Sul­tanate of Oman. The cap­i­tal of Ash Shar­qiyah is Sur. On 28 Octo­ber 2011 Ash Shar­qiyah Region was split into Ash Shar­qiyah North Gov­er­norate and Ash Shar­qiyah South Gov­er­norate. Ash Shar­qiyah Region con­sist­ed of eleven provinces (Ara­bic: ولاية, plur­al ولايات, translit­er­a­tion: wilayah, plur­al wilay­at): Sur, Ibra, Al-Mud­haibi, Al Kamil Wal Wafi, Jalan Bani Bu Has­san, Jalan Bani Bu Ali, Wadi Bani Khalid, Dema Wa Thaieen, Bidiya, Al Qabil, and Mas­sir­ah. The main cities are Sur and Ibra.